Read along med Richelle mead The golden lily

The Golden Lily, Chapters 6 & 7

Chapter Six opens with poor Sydney being mocked by her friends for shaking Brayden’s hand at the end of the date. Here’s a true story for you. When I was in a high school, a friend of my boyfriend’s liked a friend of mine, so we set up a double date. It turned out to be terribly uncomfortable between them, and when the night ended, the guy walked my friend up to her door while my boyfriend and I waited in the car and watched. There was an awkward exchange between them, and after several long moments, they shook hands and parted ways. My boyfriend and I nearly had laughter seizures because we were mean like that. But it was pretty funny.

Anyway. Let’s see what else is happening here. I often write in little things that amuse me, and having Dimitri continue to wear his duster in a desert city just tickles me to no end. Why does he do it? How can he handle the heat? He’s Dimitri. Don’t question it. He just does that kind of stuff.

Adrian comes asking Sydney for a favor, which isn’t new behavior. What’s new is that he actually goes about it humbly and gives us a straightforward reason: “There’s something about you...you don’t judge like the others. I mean, you do. You’re more judgmental than any of them in some ways. But there’s an honesty to it.” That’s hardly red hot passion, but it calls out one of the biggest things between them: honesty. We saw this all over the place in the last book. They don’t usually sugarcoat things with each other, and where some people would chafe against that, Adrian and Sydney welcome it in each other. As he points out here, it makes him feel comfortable.

Let’s head on over to Chapter Seven and the windmill date. When I was trying to find a place for Sydney and Brayden to go, I went over to tripadvisor.com and looked up a list of attractions in the Palm Springs area, searching for the nerdiest one I could find. This windmill farm is a real thing, though I embellished the tour specifics since I haven’t actually been on it. What I also had to do was go do all kinds of cracktastic research on wind energy so that I could build that argument between them. I’m an environmental fan, but I seriously didn’t know any of that stuff. Like I was saying the other day about Brayden, I grabbed all that info and just dumped it into his dialogue in as academic a way as possible and then had Sydney answer in kind. I was so afraid my editor was going to cut it. Normally, dry exposition like that isn’t something you’d want in a book, but here, as part of their conversation, it had a purpose. I knew most people wouldn’t follow it. Hell, I can’t follow all of it. But it was such a fantastic example of their relationship’s inner workings, and no matter his other faults, you have to give Brayden props for swooning over Sydney being a woman who stands by her opinions.

We close with a great exchange with Trey. I love that Sydney has guy friends like him and Eddie, with which there are no romantic complications whatsoever. As such, Trey has no filter on when it comes to giving guy wisdom:

“Brayden got me flowers,” I declared.
“And?”
“And, why’d he do it?”
“Because he likes you, Melbourne. That’s what guys do. They buy dinner and gifts, hoping that in return you’ll—um, like them back.”
 
Skrivet av Olivia


Methinks Trey had a little more in mind than “like them back.” I guess he’s got a filter after all.

Kommentera här: